Coronavirus Update

All college departments are operational. Click the Reopening the Physical Campus Slider below for more information.

Rhodes State College News

May 26, 2020
Rhodes State College Students Named to the 2020 All-Ohio Academic Third Team
LIMA, Ohio, May 26, 2020 -

  Rhodes State College students were named to the All-Ohio Community College Academic Third Team for their excellence in academics, leadership and community service. Kylie A. Gerdeman, (Radiographic Imaging – Hometown, Ottawa), Hannah M. Gold, (Digital Media Technology - Hometown, Maplewood), and Lindsey M. Kelley, (Human Resource – Hometown, Holgate) are three of 70 students in Ohio to earn an All-Ohio Academic Team honor. “We are so proud of their academic achievement and celebrate their success.” said Dr. Cynthia E. Spiers.  

To be considered for the All-Ohio Academic Team program, students must be nominated by their college president, and meet the following criteria: eligible to graduate during the current academic year and have a cumulative grade point average of at least 3.5. The rankings for the All-Ohio Academic Team are determined by the scores nominees receive in the All-USA Academic Team judging. Winners are selected on the basis of academic performance, demonstration of leadership, and community service involvement. Jack Hershey, President and CEO of the Ohio Association of Community Colleges (OACC), said, “With the many challenges facing our communities at this moment, these students who were selected to the 2020 All-Ohio Academic Team serve as shining examples of what makes our community colleges so special.”  

The All-Ohio Academic Team program is a long-time collaboration between the OACC, Phi Theta Kappa and the event sponsor, Honda of America Manufacturing, Inc. “On behalf of OACC and our partners, we are extremely proud of these students for all they have accomplished. We celebrate their academic excellence and we look forward to seeing them continue their journey to become leaders in their professions,” Hershey said. These top-performing students were nominated by faculty, staff and their peers. Students recognized as first-team honorees will receive $1,000 scholarships, while second-team members earn a $500 scholarship, and third-team members receive a $250 scholarship. 

MEDIA CONTACT:  Paula Siebeneck, 419-302-6920,

Full News List