Rhodes State College News

March 03, 2017
Barons Women’s Basketball Team wins ORCC Championship for 2017

The Barons Women’s Basketball Team won the Ohio Regional Campus Conference State Basketball Tournament Feb. 25-26, 2017, at the championship tournament at Ohio University Chillicothe. The Barons defeated Ohio University Lancaster 70-64.

Rhodes State College student Cassie Best was named first team all-Ohio Regional Campus Conference in women’s basketball. Teammate and Rhodes State student Erin Basinger was named to the second team. Basinger was also named the conference tournament’s most valuable player and was joined by teammate and Rhodes State student Brianna Smith on the all-tourney team. The Barons defeated Ohio University-Lancaster 70-64 for the tourney title Sunday.

2017 Roster 
Erin Basinger of Ottawa Glandorf, Radiographic Imaging, Rhodes State 
Sarah Blausey of Elmore, sophomore in Zoology, Ohio State 
Avery Braaten of Antwerp, Physical Therapist Assistant, Rhodes State 
Cassie Best of Lima, junior in Accounting, Ohio State; and AS/General Studies, Rhodes State 
Claire Dues of Loveland, freshman in Biology, Ohio State 
LaTrisha Edmonds of Lima, Web/Computer Programming, Rhodes State 
Emily Jones of Lima, sophomore in Early Childhood Education, Ohio State 
Jala Phillips of Lima, Radiographic Imaging, Rhodes State 
Brianna Smith of Lima, General Studies, Rhodes State 

The Women’s Basketball Team joins the Women’s Volleyball Team as ORCC Champions for 2016-2017. 

The Barons are part of the Ohio Regional Campus Conference. Other conference schools include Ohio State Mansfield, Miami-Hamilton, Miami-Middletown, Akron-Wayne, Ohio University-Chillicothe, Ohio University-Eastern and Ohio University-Zanesville. The Barons compete against ORCC schools, as well as members of the NCAA Division II, NCAA Division II, NAIA and USCAA schools. 

Standing from left: assistant coach Travis Sensabaugh, Sarah Blausey, Cassie Best, Brianna Smith, Erin Basinger, Head Coach Phil Sensabaugh. Kneeling from left: Avery Braaten, Claire Dues, Jala Phillips, LaTrisha Edmonds. 

Full News List